top of page

Summer’s breeze


Myriad blushes trickle down the sides of the tube
Glazing my echoing mind in hideous streaks
My mind stays stretched outside in the sunny summer’s breeze Murmuring words of riddles that never made any sense to us
I take deep breaths and stare at my hands
Riddled with quotes and lines from my favorite songs
I bump into my work table
The music is so hauntingly beautiful
Like a siren's call, enthralling me, calling out to me
And then the ceramic pot hits the floor
Shattering in millions pieces I watch as the colors seep into the floorboards
The mess on the floor spell one word, crazy
ENOUGH screams my mind
I'm done with filling out holes in your head
Painting ideas, singing songs to yourself to make the pain go away
I’m getting the hell out and leaving this crazy in your head behind
Let someone else feed it and love it, shouts it and then pauses
Then a tiny voice whispers, Just cos my heart speaks in a lingo my mind doesn’t understand doesn’t mean I’m crazy
And just cos the two can’t ever agree on anything doesn’t mean either one isn’t right The obsidian dawn hovers over the city
As it spreads light over the avenues and tarmacs
The blue sky has called in sick and there isn’t any butterflies in sight
The wall clock lying on the now blue floor, ticks incessantly
Striving to push me off into the dark pit of insanity
I pick it up and smash it on the wall and think
That’ll it teach it, even a broken clock is a comfort of sorts
A series of hummingbirds fly by the azaleas in the summer’s breeze
But I’m too busy to notice
I’m traveling up the steps in my head to that place
As I stand outside and grab the huge, russet knocker
The door opens to reveal Chaos
I smile curiously and offer my hands to shake
She fastens her long, thin hands around my throat
And chokes me instead, lol
Chaos wants what she wants
To create havoc in my mind... The exhausted side streets disintegrate under my feet
So I sit down and try to glue them back together
And finally after a long day of tirelessly joining, sticking and fastening The streets are complete
I brush off the dust and stand up to admire my work
As a handsome couple, Good and Evil, walk all over my handiwork Grimacing at my masterpiece And then the streets of sadness deteriorate and breaks apart completely
Pulling and sucking the corny couple in
I watch the birds circle around the cavernous pit
Singing songs of mourning
I walk by and pat their shoulders and push off into the distant
And find myself back in my room
My feet hurts and so I limped my way through to the closet
Snatched my favorite mask and walked out the front door
Joining the carnival of forgotten hearts in the summer's breeze
But this time around I’ll make sure I’m remembered
I'll make sure they hear the song
I'll make sure I'm not forgotten

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page