top of page

Everything fades


Dear Exile,

Guess what happened today

I couldn’t control it again

I woke up and didn’t know where I was

I looked around, didn’t recognize

The room I was lying in

It was dark and wet

I felt rather than saw the red flood

All around me

I was covered in it

My hands clutched the sheet covering me

They came away wet in the color red

I tried to get up, my head felt heavy

Like it would explode into tiny pieces

I don’t know how I got here

I don’t have any memory

I think I’m losing reality

My memories are fading

And I think I am too

I try to grasp at them desperately

But I can’t reach them

I’m standing on the edge, leaning forward

And funny enough I want to fall

I can see my life flash in front of me

Snippets of past gone by, snapshots of my life

I see it all in my mind

Of a little girl, her family, her happiness

With her onyx eyes, raven hair

I wonder if anyone ever knew her

I wonder if anyone knows who she is

I wonder if I know who I am

I feel like I am no one, a nobody, a nothing

I feel as if I don’t exist.

I struggle to sit up, feeling the cold seep in my bones

As I sit up dizziness grounds me, I see red

So much of it around me

I stumble off the bed and my legs give out

I can’t run, I can’t get out of this

I want to, for myself and for this pain

I again attempt to get off

Eventually I stumble my way to the edge

But where is the exit

Everything is so dark, I can barely see

In the dim light I find a mystery

I see a figure, oh wait it’s a mirror

On the far wall where little ray of light filters in

Seeping through the darkened windows

I step closer and the vision becomes clear

It’s like looking at me through a spider’s web

It’s broken, the image of me

But I see the girl, long lost

With raven hair and onyx eyes

She was so young

I see that girl I lost long ago

She was life, she was good

I close my eyes at the pain in my chest

Of things long lost, of things long past

I open my eyes and gasp

I blink again and I see him

He’s standing right behind me

Hello, my love, I’m glad you’re awake

His fingers sift through my limp hair

He leans in, his face right beside mine

And then he grins and whispers, ‘Welcome home.’

Then everything fades

And I am no longer

Regards,

LilMissOracle

This one started out to be something else and ended up being something entirely different. Goes to show my emotions all haywire. Urgh! Need to find my center. Need to be in my zone.


Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page